Stained Glass from Welsh Churches

Home » About this blog » Banner image

Banner image

Start here

Readers may be interested in the banner image that I have chosen for this blog. It is a detail of an angel from the east window at the Church of All Saints, Porthcawl, by Karl Parsons, and this angel, and another facing the opposite direction, are used on the inside jacket flaps of the book.

After looking at the book sometimes people have asked me whether I have any favourites, and stained glass such as this from the 1920s and 30s by artists influenced by the Arts and Crafts Movement is certainly among the best that I have come across. This large window by Karl Parsons was a memorial to a son lost in the First World War, made in 1927 with Leonard Potter.

These angels are quite high in the window, and hard to see easily from the body of the church. In many cases I have illustrated details of windows that are not always easy to see from below, and thereby ‘bring them back down’ into our consciousness. The extraordinary attention to detail in glass like this certainly repays the scrutiny of binoculars or a zoom lens.

1 Comment

  1. I am so very glad you like this window as much as I do 🙂
    I fell in love with it the minute I set foot in the church as a ten year old, and I was baptised, confirmed and married there. The window looks quite different from hour to hour as the natural lighting changes, but is always a delight.

Leave a Reply

